January 21

My sister’s birthday is this week. Her boyfriend asked me if I would go out to dinner with them. We went about a half hour up the road to a nice place I’d never been before. We ordered a sushi appetizer and our meals. Everything was delicious. We were so full that my sister had to order her dessert to-go. He boyfriend is an amazing gentleman, he wouldn’t even let me pay. I never once felt like a third wheel. A guy who not only takes care of my sister and treats her the way he should, but he does so with the rest of the family as well. I’ve noticed it when we are all together, he invests time and interest in my parents, my brother, my sister-in-law, and me. I have no idea if this relationship will work out, but I am very happy for my sister right now. I could see how at peace and relaxed my sister is right now. And that brings me joy.

Today’s joy is my sister’s joy.

Leave a comment