January 20

I thought I was late. I opened my eyes in panic. That panic that comes when it feels way too late for your alarm not to have gone off. And it didn’t… but it was only because I, or the  alarm- depending on how you look at it, had three more minutes. So I turned the alarm off because I thought the shock of thinking I was late had woken me up enough. It hadn’t. I dosed back off for what seemed like a minute or two. 15 minutes later, I feel myself being nudged awake, not with the shock and panic of lateness (even though it was) but with the soft nudging of a parent to awaken to a bright new day. I put my feet on the floor with an attitude of thanksgiving and the expectation of a happy Friday.

Today’s joy is the joy of God’s still small voice.

Leave a Reply

