July 28

Some things never get old II —

Today I wrote Jenn back. On real stationary. Four small colorful pages of catching her up on my life since we’ve last seen each other. It took me a while and I had to scribble some things out, but writing her was cathartic. I wanted to take my time, but I wanted to get it all down. I wanted to keep it in some kind of an order, but I kept thinking of things I wanted to say in the paragraphs before. It reminded me that it’s so easy to go back and add a sentence or edit in a typed document. Having ideas in order isn’t important because you can modify any sentence at any time. I had a very tough time writing something and then having to commit to that sentence beginning even if it wasn’t exactly how I wanted to word it. I realized I should have done a brainstorming session and put all my points down in sections so I could get it all in a systematic way and remember everything I wanted to say in general. I have a PS and a PSS on the letter. But it was wonderful to do and I kind of hope she writes me back and we an get this going all over again.

Today’s joy is writing my college roommate back.

Leave a Reply

