April 26

Healthy Choices —

I pledged to myself that I wouldn’t eat refined sugar, sugar substitutes, or high fructose corn syrup for two weeks. This only started on Monday, but I’m on my third day and feeling pretty good. I’ve been checking foods and condiments that I never thought about containing sugar (ketchup has high fructose corn syrup?), but over all it hasn’t been nearly as hard as I thought it would be to say no to foods like that chocolate peanut butter ice cream in my freezer. The end of this short stint is my nephew’s birthday party. So I will give myself a pass for the weekend, but if it stays as good as these first few days have been, I may just continue the sugar hiatus for another specific amount of time. This short term thing is what keeps me from giving up. If it was “forever” I would have already given in. The short term give me an end in sight, and even if I just start right back up again, it’s doable in a compact time frame.

Today’s joy is making healthy choices over and over.

Leave a Reply

