January 18

This evening I got myself everything I needed for a sit-in of productivity and relaxation. First I got my journal, markers, and Bible. Then I made a pot of tea and dinner. I laid out a tray with and went up to my comfy chair in front of the fireplace (it’s a plug-in, but it’s still nice ambiance). There I spent two hours sipping tea, digging into the Word of God. A new flow of God’s living water rushed through my spirit. “Doing devotions” for me is usually a ten-fifteen minute period spent reading and praying. A good habit, it gets me focused on the right things, but also like a habit, it keeps me at the same place instead of getting closer to God and moving forward in my walk. It’s time to switch things up, and not got caught in my own habits and pre-conceived notions as to what my time alone with God should look like each day. I want to be excited to see the new places we can go and new things we can do.

 

Today’s joy is the joy of inspired change.

Leave a Reply

