January 15

A friend of mine started a book club on Facebook. People he knows from all over the country are participating. We come from several different view point spiritually, politicly, economically, and educationally. We all know the coordinator, but we don’t all know each other, so starting a discussion about our first book was a little tough. At least from my perspective, we weren’t sure how people would react to our opinions and thoughts on the reading material and subject matter. Eventually we did get some discussion going. Seeing other people’s ways of thinking is inspiring to me. I like looking at subjects from multiple points of view, so the more people’s views I experience, the better world view I can achieve. That’s important to me. I want to be able to know me opinions, while still being able to listen to and understand the logic of others- even ones that are directly opposed to me know. Once I hear the experiences and circumstances that helped form a persons views, I can better understand why people think the way they do, and why they feel the way they feel. Being able to understand why a person feels the way they do is not that same thing as agreeing with them, I can hold my own opinion and respect someone else’s differing view.

Today’s joy is the joy of thoughtful dialog.

Leave a Reply

